Posted by: Holdani R. | January 18, 2014

A kind of guide for Foreigner who want to come to Indonesia (part 1)

Okay, here I am. Today post will be in english, because just two days ago I got an idea: Why I’m not make a guide for foreigner who want to come to Indonesia.

I’m not sure if this posts will be a guide. It’s just I want to help foreigner to learn some things about Indonesia and it’s culture. Sorry if my English are bad.

I got  this idea because I want to travel to Yogyakarta this January. January 25th. I’ll go there by train from ‘Stasiun Pasar Senen’ (Senen Market Train Station).

This is not absolutely true, but usually it is.

Indonesian people will refer/call a foreigner as ‘bule’ (read: boo-le). It means foreigner. Usually, only the white foreigner called bule. I don’t know why.

If you are looking for a toilet and you want to ask indonesian people using Bahasa Indonesia, you can say: “Toilet dimana ya?” (Where is the toilet?)

Indonesian currency is Rupiah (IDR). It’s known among the tourists that indonesian merchant will sell things with higher price to ‘bule’ (foreigner), like merchant in the tourism places. Make sure you bargain it with the price you want.

If you are looking for a hotel, you can say: “Dimana hotel terdekat?” which means: Where is the nearest hotel.

Now , here is some Indonesian common terms:

Indonesian : English

Terima Kasih : Thank You  (note:I think you should already know this one right?)

Selamat pagi : Good Morning

Maaf : I’m sorry

Harganya berapa? : How much is the price? (note: if you want to know the price of an item)

Dimana? : Where?

Kapan? : When?

Okay, next. .

I don’t know what to write about Yogyakarta yet, because I’m not going there yet. I will go to Yogyakarta on January 25th 2014 from Jakarta. I’ll go by train from Stasiun Pasar Senen. There I will go to Jalan Sosrowijayan (Sosrowijayan Street). It’s known for it many cheap/low budget Hotel/Rent room. I’m just reading people blogs about this information.

If you are going/planning going to Indonesia, and want to ask something. You can ask me via e-mail: ucok.jurnal@gmail.com  I’ll gladly help you.

I’ll make another post some other time later. Maybe after my travel from Yogyakarta

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

